early childhood, Uncategorized

Top 9 Gift Ideas for Toddlers

‘Tis the season, ya’ll!! I know I cannot be the only person who is FAR from finished with their holiday shopping! With Christmas quickly approaching, I have had several people ask me for gift ideas for a young child. I decided to share with you my Christmas list for my two year old son in hopes of providing some last minute inspiration for those of you struggling to find the perfect gift for the little one in your life! Below is nine of my current favorite toys for toddlers, and the reason why they made it on my son’s Christmas list this year. Check them out below and happy shopping!

1. Melissa & Doug Wooden Brew & Serve Coffee Set: $19.99

009842_1.jpg

Okay, let’s be honest here. The two main reasons behind this purchase was:

  1. I am obsessed with Melissa & Doug.
  2. It. is. adorable. I mean, come on… IS THIS NOT THE CUTEST THING YOU’VE EVER SEEN.

This 11 piece wooden coffee set stole my heart the minute I saw it. I feel as though this toy will provide hours of pretend play for my tiny man who loves to pretend he is big and copies everything he sees his mom and dad do! It also features a reusable coffee order sheet for the tiniest barista in your life.

 

2. Costway Wooden Kitchen Pretend Playset: Currently $64.98

69ffc116-4ed9-4e13-87bb-b5d7227c5d06_1.fe0e1398acb69df7159f9a28b6ab14ee.jpg

 

MOMMAS AND PAPAS AND GRANDPARENTS: this adorable wooden kitchen is on sale for $64.98 on Walmart’s website. It is originally $99.98 so that’s a steal! It comes with two adorable wooden pots and I cannot wait to place the baby Keurig on that top shelf!

 

3. Melissa & Doug Let’s Play House! 6 Piece Pretend Playset: $29.99

008600_1.jpg

More dramatic play fun! My baby cousin has this set and I noticed that my son LOVED it when we were at my uncle’s house for Thanksgiving. I immediately put it on the list, and I think it will see plenty of use!

 

4. Melissa & Doug Magnetic Fishing Game: $19.98

e45e254b-5f6f-4f29-923a-39f60d940749_1.06f9cc657b7c135558e332b5c5b18bbd.jpg

We always try to get our children a new game at christmas, and this year I decided on this one for my toddler! It’s adorable, it’s educational, and it’s by Melissa & Doug so you know the quality is excellent!

 

5. Learning Resources Fresh Picked Fruit & Veggie Tote: $14.99

698937ee-f937-485a-b91f-4858b2a4b5d9_1.4e47f6cb8934e0a54946cf9ab0d14fbb.jpg

Since my son is getting a kitchen, he obviously needed food to go with it! I thought this 16 piece set featuring an adorable reusable tote was a great option!

 

6. Strider Balance Bike: (price varies)

suzuki-main.jpg

http://www.striderbikes.com

Say it with me: balance bike. I will recommend balance bikes until I am blue in the face! We got my son a balance bike last Christmas, and he has done so well with it that he’s getting an upgrade this year. We ultimately decided to go with the licensed Suzuki in yellow this time because my son loves dirt bikes and his favorite color is yellow! Strider offers a 12 sport, 14 sport, bike accessories and bikes for children with special needs. Any company that strives for inclusivity with their products, and has proven results gets our support for sure!

 

7. Learning Resources Fine Motor Tool Set: $8

62a4a9ac-003a-41fd-83ef-61e13593d786_1.dbfbd95b7e76bfe4b125364c3661091a.jpg

As you all know…I love sensory bins!! I came across these and thought they would be a great addition to our bins! These four different tools foster the development of fine motor skills, and strengthen tiny finger muscles. I cannot wait to put these little guys into action and see if I love them as much as I am anticipating I will!

 

8. Make a Sensory Board!!

IMG_8027.JPG

Pictured above is my son’s sensory board that is hanging in his bedroom. As you can see, he gets a ton of use out of this thing! My mother and father in-law made this for my son last Christmas, and a year later it is still one of Keegan’s favorite toys to play with. If you are looking for a unique and fun gift idea, a sensory board is great way to go!

 

9. All My Friends Are Fast Asleep: $13.96 (hardcover)

51Ty89ntADL._SX446_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Last but not least, I had to include “All My Friends Are Fast Asleep” by David Weinstone! This adorable children’s book was named Parent’s Magazine’s “Best Bedtime Story of 2017”, and for good reason. It’s a wonderful little book written by the same guy behind the Music for Aardvarks program, and would be a great addition to your little one’s library! When in doubt, buy them a book! And most importantly… read it to them. There is no better gift in my opinion, than one that fosters a love for reading in a child.

 

Did you see something that you decided just HAS to be under the tree this year? Awesome!! Links to each gift provided below (:

1. Melissa & Doug Wooden Coffee Set: 

http://www.melissaanddoug.com/wooden-brew-and-serve-coffee-set/9842.html

2. Costway Wooden Kitchen:

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Costway-Wood-Kitchen-Toy-Kids-Cooking-Pretend-Play-Set-Toddler-Wooden-Playset/183771172

3. Let’s Play House! Dust! Sweep! Mop!:

http://www.melissaanddoug.com/lets-play-house-dust-sweep-mop/8600.html

4. Magnetic Wooden Fishing Game:

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Melissa-Doug-12-Piece-Magnetic-Fish-Wooden-Fishing-Game-With-Rods-and-Reels/940523861

5. Learning Resources Fresh Picked Fruits & Veggie Tote: 

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Learning-Resources-New-Sprouts-Fresh-Picked-Fruit-and-Veggie-Tote/26790112

6. Strider Bikes:

https://www.striderbikes.com

7. Learning Resources Fine Motor Tool Set: 

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Learning-Resources-Helping-Hands-Fine-Motor-Tool-Set/35773346

9. “All My Friends Are Fast Asleep” by David Weinstone:

2 thoughts on “Top 9 Gift Ideas for Toddlers”

Leave a comment